Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liverpool vs QPR remembered 1991

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/stevewils...2/anfield.html

I'll be at Anfield this weekend for Queens Park Rangers' first visit there since 1995.

Go back another four years and you'll find Rangers' only ever win at Liverpool. It was something of a landmark for them, and one for me too as it was my first broadcast commentary.

I had been working at Capital Radio in London for only a few months and had been thoroughly enjoying my Saturdays in Division Three covering Brentford and Fulham, so it was quite a shock when I was told that I was to be sent to Anfield to provide match updates on the Liverpool game against Rangers.

As a young kid on the Wirral I had been lucky enough to watch Tranmere Rovers play on Friday nights and, occasionally, Liverpool on a Saturday too.

Liverpool, on the back of a 7-1 win against Derby at the Baseball Ground, took on QPR at home (1991) and lost 3-1 with Jan Molby (centre) scoring their only goal from the penalty spot. Photo: Getty Images
    I had waited outside the entrance to Anfield's main stand many times in the hope of getting autographs.

You can imagine that I was pretty wide-eyed as I found myself walking through that same entrance.

I headed up the red-carpeted stairs past the shining glass cases which display some of the minor silverware not important enough to make it into Liverpool's main trophy room.

Walking past the boardroom I made my way outside to the press box overlooking the halfway line.

My seat was on the right-hand end of the row, with Liverpool fans sitting no more than two feet away on the other side of a low wall.

I knew I would have to be careful about where I put the effects microphone we used to pick up the noise of the crowd or there was every chance that those fans would get as much airtime as me.